Adventures of a Chocolatier

I’ve adored food for at least since I was 8 years old. When I was 8 I lived out West, in a small Idaho town where you didn’t lock your front door and everyone smiled at you. I lived with my grandparents, and my grandma was a beautiful, graceful woman with red hair who knew her way around the kitchen. It was she who first started my culinary education. During the time I was there she taught me how to bake the perfect, classic chocolate cake. This was the first thing I’d ever created with my little child paws, and I was hooked. So it began…

My pastry education continued in little bits and pieces over the years–I took some classes at the Institute of Culinary Education in New York City most recently. Most of what I know, however, I’ve taught to myself. ¬†I’ve read copious amounts of recipes and cookbooks, and have spent most of my free nights in the kitchen, with butter dotting my cheeks and sugar streaks up my forearms. I lived briefly in Paris and toured the food markets with a French chef. Nearly every morning that I woke up in Paris I ate a few small pieces of chocolate and drank a cup of coffee for breakfast. Chocolate was just part of life there!

In 2012 I founded an online chocolate boutique:¬†Truffles by Coquette, and I plan to share with you– dear, sweet ether-world; the adventures, triumphs, failures, and general story of a chocolatier trying to forge out a little nook for herself in this grand, twinkling city. I am located in New York City, for those of you who don’t know me personally.

Along with that, in this blog I will post my chocolate related recipes, tips and entertaining suggestions.

Here I go…!

One thought on “Adventures of a Chocolatier

Leave a Reply

